Schedule Out For India vs Pakistan Clash, Arch-rivals To Reportedly Lock Horns On This Date


The India vs Pakistan clash will be undoubtedly one of the biggest clashes at this year’s Asia Cup 2022. The 15th edition of the Asia Cup is scheduled to be held in Sri Lanka next month. The much-anticipated event is scheduled to start from August 27.

The Asia Cup is returning after a gap of four years. The previous edition was held in 2018 when India beat Bangladesh in the final to lift the trophy. The upcoming edition was originally scheduled to be played in 2020 but had to be postponed due to Covid-19 pandemic.

It was then rescheduled to take place in 2021 but had to be postponed again. Sri Lanka are now gearing up to host the continental championship after a gap of four years.

Asia Cup 2022 : Full Schedule, Team List, Host, Time Table, News, Venues, India Squad
India are the defending Asia Cup champions (Credits: Twitter)

Date out for India vs Pakistan clash:

While the official schedule for Asia Cup 2022 is yet to be announced by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC), the India vs Pakistan clash is reportedly set to take place on August 28, a day after the tournament begins.

It means India and Pakistan will open their respective campaigns in the tournament by locking horns against each other. Recent reports have also stated that Sri Lanka have received the green light to host the competition.

Recently there were fears that the tournament might be shifted out of the island nation due to the economic and political crisis but things are looking promising at the moment. Sri Lanka is currently playing a Test series against Australia at home. Earlier, they had successfully hosted T20I and ODI series against the same opposition.

A total of 6 teams will participate in the upcoming edition of the continental championship. Five Test playing nations from the continent – India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Afghanistan have earned direct qualification to the tournament while the remaining one team will book its place through a qualifying round.

UAE, Kuwait, Hong Kong and Singapore will fight it out in the qualifiers for a place in the main event. The qualifiers are set to begin from August 20. All the four teams have made it to the last qualifying round after progressing through the regional qualifiers.

UAE and Kuwait had made it to the qualifiers after finishing first and second in the ACC Western region event in 2020 while Singapore and Hong Kong did the same from the eastern region.

Also Read: Sourav Ganguly Birthday – Watch: ‘Time Note Karna Bas’: When Sourav Ganguly Bullied Mohammad Yousuf For Time Wasting


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us