Sana Mir, others to play in Fairbreak Invitational



Pakistan’s top cricketers Sana Mir, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana and Aliya Riaz are confirmed to play the Fairbreak Invitational Tournament 2022, a franchise league featuring players from more than 30 countries starting May 1 in Dubai.

The tournament features an array of players from all over the world, while South Asia is represented by a stellar line-up of women from India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Bhutan.

The event will be played by six teams in 19 games over the course of 15 days.

The Invitational tournament is an International Cricket Council (ICC) sanctioned venture, taking place in Dubai in conjunction with Cricket Hong Kong. There is a good number of players from Hong Kong that will be featured in the tournament as well.

Meanwhile countries like Japan, and island nation of Vanuatu will also be showcased in the tournament to assure inclusivity and equal opportunity for all.

According to the FariBreak website the tournament is the first private franchise league in women’s cricket. FairBreak had also launched the Women’s International Cricket League in Australia back in 2014.

“We envision a world where people have fair and equal access to opportunities that enable them to succeed in their chosen endeavour, independent of gender or geographical location. Our mission is to progress gender equality and equity on a truly global scale, using cricket as our primary vehicle to launch FairBreak,” reads their official statement on their motivation behind holding the league.

Ebba Qureshi, who is working on the tournament with FairBreak confirmed the participation of the Pakistan favourites in the event last week.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *