India Squad Announced For West Indies T20Is, No Virat Kohli, Senior Spinner Recalled

The BCCI, on Thursday (July 14) announced the India squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against West Indies. The upcoming India tour of West Indies 2022 is scheduled to get underway later this month.

Team India are currently in England and are presently busy playing the ODI series against the hosts. After the tour of England ends, the team will fly directly to the Caribbean for the series against West Indies.

Team India (Credits: Twitter)

The Men in Blue are scheduled to play three ODIs and five T20Is against West Indies. The ODI series will kickstart the tour. The first ODI is scheduled to take place on July 22, just 5 days after the tour of England ends.

The India tour of West Indies will end on August 7 with the fifth and final T20I scheduled to be played in Florida.

India tour of West Indies 2022 – India squad:

As recent media reports suggested, senior batsman Virat Kohli and pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah have been rested for the series. Both the players have also been rested for the ODI series.

Skipper Rohit Sharma has been rested from the ODI series too but will lead the T20I team. KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav have been named in the squad but their inclusion depends on their fitness.

Both the players missed the ongoing tour of the UK due to injuries. Apart from Rahul and Kuldeep, senior spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has been recalled to the team too. Ashwin’s last T20I appearance had come last year during the home series against New Zealand.

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin (Credits: Twitter)

Young pacer Umran Malik has been dropped from the T20I team after he failed to impress against Ireland and England. The selectors have recalled Arshdeep Singh who made a big impact on his T20I debut against England this month.

Arshdeep was a part of the squad for only the first T20I. Surprisingly, the selectors have also not picked Yuzvendra Chahal in the team. Apart from Kuldeep, Ravi Bishnoi is the only other specialist spinner in the team.

Here is the India squad for the T20I series against West Indies:

Rohit Sharma (C), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

*Inclusion of KL Rahul & Kuldeep Yadav is subject to fitness.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us