France 1-0 Netherlands: Eve Perisset scores extra-time winner from the spot

France 1-0 Netherlands: Eve Perisset scores extra-time winner from the spot

France overcame a stubborn Netherlands as they beat the defending champions in extra time to reach the semi-final of the Euros for the first time.

Eve Perisset finally broke the deadlock for Les Bleus from the spot in the 102nd minute to set up a last-four meeting with Germany in Milton Keynes on Wednesday.

That came after Kadidiatou Diani was fouled by Dominique Janssen inside the box, a decision given after the referee consulted the pitchside monitor.

The Dutch had somehow repelled wave after wave of French attack as goalkeeper Daphne van Domselaar produced one of the tournament’s standout solo displays, though she could not get a strong enough hand on Perisset’s spot-kick.

Star forward Vivianne Miedema missed a rare chance of her own for the Netherlands but it was always France who looked more threatening and Grace Geyoro headed a glorious opportunity wide in the final moments of normal time.

France end quarter-final hoodoo

This was the third-best side in the world against the one ranked fourth, but for long periods the gulf in class seemed a lot wider as France dominated a match in which they racked up 33 efforts on goal.

France boss Corinne Diacre said beforehand they would approach this encounter “with a sledgehammer” and that was how it appeared as they battered on the Dutch door from the off.

Chance after chance came and went after the dangerous Kadidiatou Diani first burst down the right during a swift counter attack only to be denied by Van Domselaar, something that would become a recurring theme.

The Dutch goalkeeper made another two saves in quick succession, first flinging herself through the air to tip away from her own defender Janssen’s sliced clearance and then to deny Charlotte Bilbault from distance.

And when Van Domselaar could not thwart the French, defender Stefanie van der Gragt stepped up to do so – she turned Melvine Malard’s effort off the line with her knees as somehow the Dutch clung on, and then foiled Geyoro moments later with another last-ditch clearance.

Van Domselaar continued to produce her shot-stopping heroics by palming away efforts from substitute Selma Bach and Wendie Renard after the break, also denying the latter with a finger-tip save in the final minutes of normal time.

The crucial moment eventually came in extra time, when Janssen caught Diani in a hopeful lunge that was not initially picked up by Ivana Martincic and instead flagged by the video assistant referee.

France have fallen at the quarter-final hurdle in their past three Euros, but Perisset’s penalty was enough to break that run and send them into a semi-final with Germany.

Netherlands lack cutting edge

The Netherlands won this tournament under the guidance of Sarina Wiegman in 2017, reaching the World Cup final two years later, but current boss Mark Parsons said before the competition his evolving side are a work in progress.

Their hopes were boosted before the quarter-final by the return of Arsenal forward Miedema after a bout of Covid, but the 26-year-old cut an isolated figure for long spells as the Netherlands were forced to soak up pressure.

Miedema’s one chance came in the first half from a corner, volleying over unmarked inside the box, and she struggled to shake off the attention of France centre-back Renard, who was impressive throughout.

When they did manage to eke out periods of possession the cutting edge was not there, and despite a valiant defensive effort and Van Domselaar’s tournament-high 11 saves, their reign as European champions is over.

“I am unbelievably proud of the players and the staff, you saw the players give everything. There is not a player with an ounce of energy left,” said Parsons.

“For us, continuing to build this special group that is forming, the future is bright, and I wish we could have shown that a bit more in this tournament – that wasn’t meant to be.”

Player of the match

van DomselaarDaphne van Domselaar


  1. Squad number20Player nameCascarino

  2. Squad number13Player nameBacha

  3. Squad number7Player nameKarchaoui

  4. Squad number11Player nameDiani

  5. Squad number3Player nameRenard

  6. Squad number10Player nameMatéo

  7. Squad number6Player nameToletti

  8. Squad number22Player namePérisset

  9. Squad number19Player nameMbock Bathy

  10. Squad number12Player nameMalard

  11. Squad number14Player nameBilbault

  12. Squad number21Player namePeyraud-Magnin

  13. Squad number8Player nameGeyoro

  14. Squad number18Player nameSarr

  15. Squad number2Player namePalis

  16. Squad number4Player nameTorrent


  1. Squad number16Player namevan Domselaar

  2. Squad number3Player namevan der Gragt

  3. Squad number14Player nameGroenen

  4. Squad number6Player nameRoord

  5. Squad number22Player nameBrugts

  6. Squad number10Player namevan de Donk

  7. Squad number5Player nameWilms

  8. Squad number18Player nameCasparij

  9. Squad number8Player nameSpitse

  10. Squad number12Player namePelova

  11. Squad number21Player nameEgurrola

  12. Squad number20Player nameJanssen

  13. Squad number17Player nameLeuchter

  14. Squad number2Player nameNouwen

  15. Squad number9Player nameMiedema

  16. Squad number7Player nameBeerensteyn



Formation 4-3-3

  • 21Peyraud-Magnin
  • 22PérissetSubstituted forTorrentat 105′minutes
  • 19Mbock Bathy
  • 3Renard
  • 7Karchaoui
  • 14Bilbault
  • 6TolettiSubstituted forPalisat 105′minutes
  • 8GeyoroSubstituted forMatéoat 88′minutes
  • 11DianiSubstituted forSarrat 105′minutes
  • 12MalardSubstituted forBachaat 62′minutes
  • 20Cascarino


  • 1Chavas
  • 2Palis
  • 4Torrent
  • 5Tounkara
  • 10Matéo
  • 13Bacha
  • 15Dali
  • 16Lerond
  • 17Baltimore
  • 18Sarr
  • 23Cissoko


Formation 4-3-3

  • 16van Domselaar
  • 5WilmsSubstituted forEgurrolaat 115′minutes
  • 3van der GragtBooked at 72mins
  • 20JanssenBooked at 101mins
  • 18CasparijSubstituted forNouwenat 105′minutes
  • 14Groenen
  • 10van de DonkSubstituted forBrugtsat 72′minutes
  • 8SpitseSubstituted forLeuchterat 105′minutes
  • 7BeerensteynSubstituted forRoordat 45′minutes
  • 9MiedemaBooked at 103mins
  • 12Pelova


  • 1Weimar
  • 2Nouwen
  • 4van Dongen
  • 6Roord
  • 13Jansen
  • 15Dijkstra
  • 17Leuchter
  • 19Olislagers
  • 21Egurrola
  • 22Brugts
  • 23Lorsheyd

Ivana Martincic


Live Text

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us