Recent Match Report – WI Women vs AUS Women 14th Match 2021/22


Australia brought in Jonassen and Sutherland while West Indies replaced Anisa with Ramharack after 30-minute toss delay in Wellington

Toss West Indies Women chose to bat vs Australia Women

In-form allrounder Deandra Dottin overcame fitness concerns to start for West Indies, who opted to bat in the league-stage fixture against undefeated Australia in overcast Wellington.
Dottin’s availability had been a talking point leading into Tuesday’s fixture following the back and leg niggles she battled during her superlative 62 in West Indies’ outing against India on Saturday. She underwent two full days’ rest since, head coach Courtney Walsh revealed on match eve.
West Indies brought in Karishma Ramharack for fellow offspinner Anisa Mohammed, with captain Stafanie Taylor describing the move as a more favoured match-up.
Australia, meanwhile, rung in two changes: left-arm spinner Jess Jonassen and right-arm quick Annabel Sutherland came in for wristspinner Amanda-Jade Wellington and quick bowler Darcie Brown, who took 3 for 22 in the previous game, to suit the conditions and match-ups better.

West Indies came into this game on the back of a 155-run thumping they got from India, having pulled off two upsets in their previous two games: they downed hosts New Zealand and defending champions England. Australia, unsurprisingly, have lived up to their pre-tournament favourites billing so far, winning three out of their three games: against England, Pakistan, and New Zealand.

Former New Zealand captain Debbie Hockley said in her toss report that the green-tinged surface, which had been under the covers for a while ahead of the rain-induced toss delay, would be good for batting first but the overcast conditions could affect that decision. She added that West Indies’ attacking flair and dominance in the powerplay could help them post a formidable total on the board.

Despite a 30-minute delay to the start of play, no overs had been lost.

West Indies: 1 Deandra Dottin, 2 Hayley Matthews, 3 Kycia Knight, 4 Stafanie Taylor (capt), 5 Shemaine Campbelle (wk), 6 Chedean Nation, 7 Aaliyah Alleyne, 8 Chinelle Henry, 9 Shakera Selman, 10 Karishma Ramharack, 11 Shamilia Connell

Australia: 1 Rachael Haynes, 2 Alyssa Healy (wk), 3 Meg Lanning (capt), 4 Ellyse Perry, 5 Beth Mooney, 6 Tahlia McGrath, 7 Ashleigh Gardner, 8 Annabel Sutherland, 9 Jess Jonassen, 10 Alana King, 11 Megan Schutt

Annesha Ghosh is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. @ghosh_annesha

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us