Recent Match Report – SA Women vs ENG Women 1st ODI 2022


Toss South Africa chose to bat vs England

South Africa have won the toss and opted to bat first in the opening match in the ODI leg of their multi-format series against England in Northampton.

With both sides tied on two points apiece following the drawn Test in Taunton, this is their first meeting in an ODI since the World Cup semi-final which England won by 137 runs, having lost their group-stage match by three wickets.

Trisha Chetty returns as wicketkeeper, having relinquished the gloves to Sinalo Jafta during the Test match. South Africa are still without leading pace bowler Shabnim Ismail, who missed the Test with a calf injury, although she warmed up with the South Africa squad in Northampton.

England, meanwhile, have tinkered with their batting order, retaining Emma Lamb as opener after she played a composed knock opposite Tammy Beaumont in the Test. It will be her third ODI after she scored a duck during the Ashes and was not required to bat against Pakistan at the World Cup earlier this year.

The hosts have promoted Sophia Dunkley from the middle order to No. 3 and Danni Wyatt, who has historically switched between opener and finisher, will come in at No. 6.

Veteran seam bowler Katherine Brunt is back in action having announced her retirement from Tests before the match in Taunton, and England have opted for two spinners with Sophie Ecclestone and Charlie Dean.

That means Lauren Bell and Issy Wong, who impressed as potential successors to Brunt and the retired Anya Shrubsole during the Test, miss out with Kate Cross teaming up with Brunt to lead the seam attack.

South Africa: Laura Wolvaardt, Andrie Steyn, Lara Goodall, Sune Luus (capt), Marizanne Kapp, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Trisha Chetty (wk), Ayabonga Khaka, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune

England: Tammy Beaumont, Emma Lamb, Sophia Dunkley, Nat Sciver, Heather Knight (capt), Danni Wyatt, Amy Jones (wk), Sophie Ecclestone, Katherine Brunt, Charlie Dean, Kate Cross


Source link

 Gujarat v Kerala

Gujarat v Kerala

 Karnataka v Mumbai

Karnataka v Mumbai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us