Recent Match Report – England vs South Africa 2nd ODI 2022

South Africa chose to bowl v England

England were asked to bat first in their first match of the post-Ben Stokes’ ODI era after Keshav Maharaj won a second successive toss and decided to give his attack first use of damp conditions. Wet weather delayed the toss by almost three hours and cut the match to 29 overs a side on a grey day in Manchester.

South Africa opted to stick to their three-seamer, two-spinner combination with a sixth-bowling option in Aiden Markram, but have had to change the allrounder. Andile Phehlukwayo, who sustained a concussion on Tuesday, has been ruled out of the series and replaced by Dwaine Pretorius. With the shortened game, four bowlers can bowl a maximum of six overs each and one bowler can bowl five.

England have a few more options, with three quicks and four spin bowlers in their XI. David Willey and Reece Topley come in for Brydon Carse and Matthew Potts but the spotlight will be on the new batter. Phil Salt has been given an opportunity at No.3 and will play his seventh ODI, following Stokes’ retirement.

England: 1 Jason Roy, 2 Jonny Bairstow, 3 Phil Salt, 4 Joe Root, 5 Jos Buttler (capt & wk), 6 Liam Livingstone, 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Sam Curran, 9 David Willey, 10 Adil Rashid, 11 Reece Topley

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Janneman Malan, 3 Rassie van der Dussen, 4 Aiden Markram, 5 Heinrich Klaasen, 6 David Miller, 7 Dwaine Pretorius, 8 Keshav Maharaj (capt), 9 Anrich Nortje, 10 Lungi Ngidi, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

Source link

 Gujarat v Kerala

Gujarat v Kerala

 Karnataka v Mumbai

Karnataka v Mumbai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us