List Of Top Ten Highest Run-Scorers In Asia Cup


Asia Cup 2022 will get underway this week. A total of six teams will be participating in the continental championship that will kickstart on August 27. The six teams have been divided into two groups of three teams each. The top two teams will progress to the Super 4s. The four teams will play one match against each other before the two finalists are decided.

The final is scheduled to take place on September 11. In the first game of the tournament, Sri Lanka will be up against Afghanistan. As far as India are concerned, they will open their campaign against bitter rivals Pakistan. The fifteenth edition of the Asia Cup will see some of the best batsmen in the world playing for their respective countries.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Credits: Twitter)

The likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Babar Azam, Rishabh Pant, Mohammad Rizwan are just some of the few big names who will be playing in Asia Cup 2022. All the batsmen will be eager to do well and power their respective team to the title. At the same time, they will be also looking to move up the ladder in the list of highest run-scorers in the Asia Cup.

So before the Asia Cup 2022 gets underway, we are taking a look at the list of top ten highest run-scorers in the tournament:

The upcoming edition will be the fifteenth edition of the Asia Cup. The first edition of the tournament was played way back in 1984. Defending champions India are the most successful team in the history of the tournament. They have won the tournament five times, followed by Sri Lanka and Pakistan who have won it 5 and 2 times respectively.

Kumar Sangakkara
Kumar Sangakkara (Credits: Twitter)

Coming to the highest run-scorers, the list is led by Sri Lankan legend Sanath Jayasuriya. He is the first-ever batsman to touch the 1000-run mark in Asia Cup. Jayasuriya is followed by his compatriot Kumar Sangakkara who is the only other batsman with more than 1000 runs in Asia Cup. Former India batsman Sachin Tendulkar is at the fourth spot.

Here is the list of the top ten highest run-scorers in Asia Cup:

Player Mat Inns Runs HS Ave SR 100 50
Sanath Jayasuriya (SL) 25 24 1220 130 53.04 102.52 6 3
Kumar Sangakkara (SL) 24 23 1075 121 48.86 84.51 4 8
Sachin Tendulkar (INDIA) 23 21 971 114 51.1 85.47 2 7
Shoaib Malik (PAK) 21 19 907 143 64.78 93.02 3 4
Rohit Sharma (INDIA) 27 26 883 111* 42.04 90.01 1 7
Virat Kohli (INDIA) 16 14 766 183 63.83 99.6 3 2
Arjuna Ranatunga (SL) 19 19 741 131* 57 82.79 1 6
Mushfiqur Rahim (BAN) 26 26 739 144 32.13 83.88 2 2
MS Dhoni (INDIA) 24 20 690 109* 69 91.51 1 3
Mahela Jayawardene (SL) 28 26 674 78 29.3 87.64 0 7


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us