Germany 4-0 Denmark: Powerful Germans make flying start at Euro 2022

Germany 4-0 Denmark: Powerful Germans make flying start at Euro 2022


Eight-time European champions Germany got their Euro 2022 campaign off to a flying start by hammering Euro 2017 runners-up Denmark at a sold-out Brentford Community Stadium.

Goals from Bayern Munich team-mates Lina Magull and Lea Schuller put the Germans on course for victory in the first heavyweight showdown of the tournament.

Felicitas Rauch twice struck the bar in the space of three first-half minutes for Germany before the lively Magull fired past keeper Lene Christensen for her 20th international goal.

Schuller headed the second from a corner and Wolfsburg’s Lena Lattwein made it 3-0. Germany added a fourth through substitute Alexandra Popp.

On a disastrous night for Denmark, they finished with 10 players after substitute Kathrine Kuhl was sent off for a second yellow card in the dying moments.

With Group B rivals Spain defeating Finland 4-1 earlier on Friday, Germany moved into top spot before their match with La Roja next Tuesday.

It was a statement win by Germany who would have won by a more handsome margin but for Christensen.

Magull might have had a hat-trick but the Denmark keeper made a string of fine saves to keep her side in the game before Germany struck three times in the second half.

Powerful Germany flex their muscles

The days when Germany won this tournament as a matter of course are over. They are the most successful country in the competition’s history, winning it eight times, including six in a row between 1995 and 2013.

They were knocked out at the quarter-final stage in 2017 by Denmark, but five years on they ruthlessly turned the tables on the Danes in west London.

Germany started like a team that meant business as Wolfsburg’s Rauch twice hit the bar before Magull was denied by a fabulous save.

But there was nothing Christensen could do when Magull stole the ball off Stine Ballisager Pedersen and powered into the penalty area to score the 12th goal of this tournament.

Christensen’s save from Magull on the stroke of half-time was crucial, but the fourth game of Euro 2022 was decided when Schuller pounced from a corner moments after Denmark had made a triple change.

Denmark capitulated as Lattwein and then Popp, who made her Germany debut in 2010, ensured the most successful country in the history of the European Women’s Championship got off to a fine start.

More to follow

helpHow to play

Rate players out of 10 throughout or after the game. The rater will close 30 minutes after the final whistle.

Rating range key1 = Give it up10 = Pure perfection


  1. Squad number1Player nameFrohms

  2. Squad number15Player nameGwinn

  3. Squad number3Player nameHendrich

  4. Squad number5Player nameHegering

  5. Squad number17Player nameRauch

  6. Squad number6Player nameOberdorf

  7. Squad number13Player nameDäbritz

  8. Squad number20Player nameMagull

  9. Squad number9Player nameHuth

  10. Squad number7Player nameSchüller

  11. Squad number19Player nameBühl

  1. Squad number4Player nameLattwein

  2. Squad number8Player nameLohmann

  3. Squad number11Player namePopp

  4. Squad number16Player nameDallmann

  5. Squad number22Player nameBrand


  1. Squad number1Player nameChristensen

  2. Squad number4Player nameSevecke

  3. Squad number3Player namePedersen

  4. Squad number11Player nameVeje

  5. Squad number19Player nameThomsen

  6. Squad number7Player nameTroelsgaard

  7. Squad number13Player nameJunge

  8. Squad number23Player nameSvava

  9. Squad number10Player nameHarder

  10. Squad number20Player nameBruun

  11. Squad number17Player nameMadsen

  1. Squad number5Player nameBoye

  2. Squad number9Player nameNadim

  3. Squad number12Player nameLarsen

  4. Squad number15Player nameMøller Kühl

  5. Squad number21Player nameGejl Jensen



Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Frohms
  • 15Gwinn
  • 3Hendrich
  • 5HegeringBooked at 90mins
  • 17RauchBooked at 73mins
  • 6OberdorfBooked at 40minsSubstituted forLohmannat 84′minutes
  • 13DäbritzSubstituted forLattweinat 61′minutes
  • 20MagullSubstituted forDallmannat 69′minutes
  • 9Huth
  • 7SchüllerSubstituted forPoppat 61′minutes
  • 19BühlSubstituted forBrandat 61′minutes


  • 2Kleinherne
  • 4Lattwein
  • 8Lohmann
  • 10Freigang
  • 11Popp
  • 12Schult
  • 14Anyomi
  • 16Dallmann
  • 18Waßmuth
  • 21Berger
  • 22Brand
  • 23Doorsoun


Formation 3-4-3

  • 1Christensen
  • 4Sevecke
  • 3Pedersen
  • 11Veje
  • 19ThomsenSubstituted forLarsenat 84′minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 7TroelsgaardSubstituted forMøller Kühlat 56′minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 13Junge
  • 23SvavaSubstituted forBoyeat 70′minutes
  • 10Harder
  • 20BruunSubstituted forNadimat 56′minutes
  • 17MadsenSubstituted forGejl Jensenat 56′minutes


  • 2Thrige
  • 5Boye
  • 6Holmgaard
  • 8Holmgaard
  • 9Nadim
  • 12Larsen
  • 14Bredgaard
  • 15Møller Kühl
  • 16Svane
  • 18Gewitz
  • 21Gejl Jensen
  • 22Worsøe

Live Text


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us