England Announce ODI, T20I Squads For India Series


England, on Friday, announced the T20I and the ODI squads for the upcoming limited-overs series at home against Team India.

England and India are currently battling it out in the one-off Test at Edgbaston, Birmingham. The Test got underway on Friday (July 1). Following the conclusion of the Test, both the teams will be taking on each other in three T20Is and as many ODIs.

The T20I series will begin on July 7 while the ODI series will commence on July 12. India’s tour will come to an end with the third and final ODI on July 17. The hosts have recalled their Test skipper and ace allrounder Ben Stokes to the ODI team. Stokes has returned to the ODI team for the first time in a year.

Also Read: IND vs ENG 2022: Michael Vaughan ‘Ridicules’ Team India For Leaving Out Ravichandran Ashwin For Edgbaston Test

His last ODI appearance came against Pakistan in July last year. Following the conclusion of the three-match series against Pakistan at home, Stokes had taken a break from the game. Later, he returned to the Test side and recently replaced Joe Root as the Test captain.

Ben Stokes
Ben Stokes (Credits: Twitter)

England have named a 15-man squad for the ODI series. The upcoming series will be also Jos Buttler’s first as captain after Eoin Morgan announced his retirement from international cricket.

England ODI squad:

Jos Buttler (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Craig Overton, Matthew Parkinson, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey

T20I squad:

As far as the T20I squad is concerned, no player from the side playing against India in the ongoing fifth Test are involved in the T20I series. Lancashire pacer Richard Gleeson has earned his maiden call-up for the upcoming series. Adil Rashid will miss the series due to Hajj pilgrimage and has been replaced by Matthew Parkinson as the frontline spinner in the team.

England leg-spinner Adil Rashid
England leg-spinner Adil Rashid  (Credits: Twitter)

T20I squad:

Jos Buttler (capt), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Richard Gleeson, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Matthew Parkinson, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us