Australia’s Test quicks and David Warner rested from Pakistan limited-overs matches


Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff and Nathan Ellis are among the pace bowlers included

Travis Head has an opportunity to play his first ODI since 2018 while Josh Inglis will be in the mix for a debut after his impressive start in the T20I side against Sri Lanka. With Wade not included, Inglis is likely to take the gloves for the one-off T20. Glenn Maxwell was not available for the tour due to his wedding.

In the absence of the big three quicks, Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff and Nathan Ellis are part of the pace attack. Allrounder Cameron Green will also have the chance to resume his white-ball international career which has so far been limited to one ODI.

CA contracted players with IPL deals – included those not part of this series – will not be available to take up their contracts until April 6. Of the touring party, Abbott, Ellis, Behrendorff, Mitchell Marsh and Marcus Stoinis have IPL teams.

“We have picked a talented and versatile squad with a number of challenges to juggle, including the tour structure of predominantly 50-over games, management of several multi format players in the medium to long term; and our need to build experience and depth in preparation for two short form World Cups within the next 18 months,” national selector George Bailey said.

“There’s no doubt it’s been a pretty intense schedule the last six months and even if you look ahead the next 18 months so it’s about working with those individuals and the squad as a whole that you are trying to meet the needs of everything. This [squad] was a bit of a challenge.”

The ODI series will be just Australia’s second in the format in more than a year having only played three matches against West Indies during 2021. They had been due to play home matches against New Zealand but that series was postponed to due quarantine requirements.

Squad Aaron Finch (capt), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us